“Marry me,” he asked her.

“I…” She stared at the ring he held out at her.

“I love you and I want to spend the rest of my life with you. You’re my everything; my breath, my heart, my soul. I know it all sounds so cheesy, but I don’t care as long as I have you in my life.”

Tears… guilt… She threw the ring into the ocean and ran away.

“Hana!” He called after her as he ran for her, “Hana, wait!” He caught up and grabbed her arms. “Hana, what’s wrong?”

“I don’t love you!” She cried out. “I love someone else… I only stayed with you because..” She looked away.

Tobikuma took her face between his hands and looked into her water eyes. “Because why?” He asked.

“Because he didn’t love me…” She broke away and turned, ashamed of herself…

Tobikuma wrapped his arms around her and held her close. “He is a fool for not loving you.”

Shocked, Hana stared up at him.

“I will always love you, Hana,” he said, “but if you don’t love me, I won’t force you. I will be here for you no matter what.”

Her tears streamed down faster. “I don’t deserve you,” she sobbed. “I never did, never will and no matter how much I want to love you, I just can’t… I can’t let him go.”

“Saying you don’t deserve me is saying you don’t deserve air. Air will be there for you always no matter what, as will I. I will be your air, your water. I will wait until you love me, even if it takes forever. And if forever turns into never, I will still linger for you.” Tobikuma kissed her, drugging her slowly with his sweet, passionate kiss. “I love you, Hana. I will still be here.”

And with those words lingering, he walked away.

