Re-post; Revised

“Can I ask for one thing back?”

“What?”

I remember walking through the park where the ducks swam in the pond. I remember walking by you, thinking about how gorgeous you looked. The way your hair covered your eyes and the way your smile sparkled. But I walked on by because I thought there was no chance for me to be with you. So I passed by you, with no intention of even saying hi, but then you took my hand and asked for my name.

You told me you’ve never seen a smile like mine. You told me you’ve never seen eyes as twinkling as mine. You told me you’ve never seen cheeks blush as red as mine.

Before I knew it, we were talking and walking. Laughing and smiling, talking about anything and everything. Then you took me to this secret place beyond the tree and said that this was where you go to whenever you wanted to be alone. You said that you wanted to be alone with me.

So we sat on the bridge and watched the river flow beneath us. We echoed the forest with our laughter and words, over powering the tweets and chirps of Mother Nature. We talked all day until it got dark; we talked all night until I had to go home.

You walked me to my broke down house and asked for my number but I said no. Then the next day when I woke up, you were still there all covered with snow. You said you wouldn’t leave and would have done whatever it would take; you said nothing could move you and that you wouldn’t break. I swear, I think I tripped just a bit for you there.

I smiled at you, told you I’ll meet you after school. I smiled at you, thinking to myself wow, I’m such a fool.

When I came back home, you were still there. Whether you moved or not, I didn’t know, but I did know that your face lit up when you saw me and I know that mine did too. You said you were going to take me to the movies and that I had no choice. You said I could pick the film and you wouldn’t complain.

Two weeks, three weeks, four weeks passed…

You finally asked me to be your girl and I said I don’t know.

Why, you asked, while we were at a show. I just looked away and didn’t reply for days.

Two weeks passed, I haven’t seen you at my door. I thought maybe you wanted from me, nothing more. But the next day, you showed up with a dozen white roses. You said that with each passing breath without me, a door closes. There are no more open doors for you without me, and without my love you just wouldn’t be able to breathe.

I fell for you; truly, completely, head over heels. I gave you my heart, I gave you my soul. I gave you everything I had, I gave it my whole.

Two years has gone by when you took my hand and led me to the forest of the bridge and trees. You said this was where we first spent our day, and this is where we’ll spend our last… I didn’t know what was going on; I didn’t know what was happening. But you smiled at me and said everything would be okay.  Then you said goodbye. You told me that I wasn’t to follow, I wasn’t to speak. I wasn’t to move till half past three.

You called me that morning at two AM. You said you were sorry and that you should be damned. I wanted an explanation; I wanted to know… What was so wrong that you had to go? You told me you’ll meet me, but not today. You said somehow, you’ll find some way.

Days, weeks, months… I waited for you. I waited for a sign, a signal, a clue.

Then your friend, he came up to me. Handed me a letter and said he was sorry. I opened it and found a picture… It was of you holding a baby with someone else and beneath it said, “I was always with her.”

I didn’t know what to do, what to say… I still don’t remember what I did till today.

But then I saw your face, standing on that bridge with such grace.

That hair, still upon your cheeks. Your eyes, still sparkling with glee. There were so many questions I wanted to ask. So many things I wanted to know. But instead I asked you one thing and one thing only.

“Can I have my heart back?”

